Welcome to the Mere Literary Festival website

Each year, in October, residents of the small town of Mere in Wiltshire, along with their friends, get together to put on a Literary festival to support the local Linkscheme charity.

The festival caters for a wide range of interests including events for children, and audiences are drawn from those living in this rural district and visitors to the town, among them those shortlisted or commended in the annual literary competition. The competition alternates yearly between a poetry competition and a time-limited short story writing competition.

2016 Competition
Shreen Water, Mere

Latest News

7th April 2016
2015 FINAL FIGURES. Over the past few months the financial figures for the 2015 Literary Festival were finalised. We are pleased to confirm that approximately 2500 was raised for the Mere and District Linkscheme charity. Thank you once again for all of your support during the 2015 festival, and for your entries for the writing competition. We hope you will be able to participate once again in the 2016 event.

11th February 2016
2016 LITERARY COMP. Preliminary details about this year's writing competition are now available. It will take the form of a Timed Flash Fiction competition. Click here for a little more detail.

1st February 2016
2016 FESTIVAL DATES. The dates for this year's Mere Literary Festival have now been confirmed. The festival will take place from Monday 10th October to Sunday 16th October. More details about the event will be added to this website throughout the year.

4th November 2015
2015 WINNING POEMS. Some of the prize winning poems from the 2015 Poetry Competition are now available to read on this website. Click here for the Open Section winning poems, and click here for the Local Section winners.

19th October 2015
2015 POETRY COMPETITION WINNERS. The winners of the 2015 Poetry Competition were announced at yesterday's festival awards ceremony, marking the end of another great Mere Literary Festival. Congratulations to the section winners: Sue Kauth (Open), David Childs (Local), Holly Pepper (Junior). And, thank you again to everyone who entered. For full results click here.